Friday, April 11, 2014


As most of you have probably already seen 
our family has finally added some red to our wardrobe
Don't worry- it will never be THAT red.

Trent has accepted OSU's offer 
and will be earning his PhD in Art History from their amazing faculty. 
We are in the middle of searching for housing and will be flying out in a few weeks to decide.

In the meantime-
I will end my job at BYU's Rollins Center for Entrepreneurship & Technology in May. 
It is a bittersweet feeling
I am so excited to stay at home with E 
but also will miss all the amazing people I have met 
and the incredible opportunities I have been given the last few years.

I will also start a job at the end of May working for a contact I met while at the Entrepreneurship Center.
I will get to work from home on some amazing projects that I am excited about.

T defends his thesis in 10 days and graduates in 14.
I am SO proud of him-
you guys
 I can never even begin to explain how much he has helped our family
He has been working, writing a thesis, taking classes
 ALL while watching E the majority of the week.

He will defend
take a breather and then start the formatting part of the thesis stuff
which I obviously don't understand fully
then will be a TA and research assistant for professors at BYU and Harvard
yeah- THAT Harvard
the Harvard guy had been searching high and low for an amazing writer 
read some of T's stuff
and obviously fell over in his chair and hired him

Oh and we move in with my in laws in June
hello AC during the summer

So I think I have covered everything

Any suggestions on
housing in Columbus
 things to do in Columbus
 tips on moving across country
 buying a second car
 how to transition to staying at home full time from a full time job
or how to really accept change and not freak out

let me know...



  1. Wow Lauren - that is such life changing things! I am happy you are doing so well, you have a darling little family!

  2. Seriously so exciting.

    Do you want me to put you in touch with my friends that lived in Columbus (and had husbands at OU)? They were there for eight and four years, and loved loved loved it. I'm sure they'd be happy to talk about neighborhoods/wards/houses/apartments, if you're so inclined!

    1. Yes, Please! I would love to email her if she is willing to chat about it!

  3. My biggest recommendation for going from full-time work to full-time mom is to schedule things/keep a schedule. See if your ward or neighborhood does a play group (or start one!) that you can attend. Find out when story time at the library is and take your kid there. If your husband has a reasonable amount of time for lunch/you live really close to campus, meet up with him every day for it or twice a week. That way you will always have something to look forward to and you won't just feel like you've been reading truck books over and over and over. ;)
    I'll double check with a couple of my friends who live in Ohio to see if they're in Columbus and can help with your questions.
    You'll do wonderfully! What exciting changes are coming your way! Good luck with the next couple of months!